Analytical Reflection

I feel that this small-scale 3-hour event is the epitome of the 12-week effective communication module. As the head of the organizing committee for the presentation showcase, I helped in coordinating the event and preparations from liaising directly with lecturers to coordinating the photographer, videographer, emcees as well as presentation slides. Thankfully, I did not need to micromanage the event because those involved in running the event were more skilled and experienced in their respective roles than I was. I am contented that CVE’s first presentation showcase was a success. If given the opportunity to prepare a similar event, I would want to undertake a different role to polish my communication skill such as becoming an emcee or a moderator.

On top of that, I was also a presenter in the showcase. While it was fearful to stand in front of a large audience, which consisted of the cohort, industry players and academics, I gained strength and confidence in the process. I think what mattered most was the courage to try. Thankfully, the judges applauded my team for our appealing presentation slides and professionalism in delivery. They also mentioned, however, that passion or excitement in convincing the audience of the noteworthiness of the content was lacking. Their comments proved to us that communication is a package that should be wholesome for it to be effective. While visuals and illustrations allowed the audience to better understand and follow incomprehensible concepts, the tone of delivery will also shape the overall package. This showcase has taught me that to be able to achieve effective communication, one must be passionate about the message and play the part skillfully.

One Reply to “”

  1. Thanks so much, Umar, for all your effort with the event and with this reflection. Interesting to me is that you’d like to be an emcee in a future event. Go for that!

    Like

Leave a comment