Critical Reflection

Looking back at the goals I have set for myself at the start of the module, I am confident that I can communicate more effectively now. At the start of the module, I had two goals in mind: Expand my comfort zone while becoming a confident speaker, and enhance my writing skills.

While it was rather uncomfortable to leave my comfort zone at first, my classmates eased my path to bring down my walls and being bold in confronting my fears, from initiating minor conversations to facing a large audience, which I think is a good leap forward to communicating effectively.

I learnt that the most important aspect of a presentation is the respect a presenter shows to the content and his self. Because in spite of his fears or insecurities in presenting, the message and intention will determine how the content is packaged and how his audience perceives it, thus preordaining the success of the presentation. A good content can be delivered by anyone, but if I as the presenter am not forthright, my flawed intention will surely surface during delivery. I think this resonates through all aspects of communication, regardless if it is verbal, non-verbal or written. I think the only way I can improve is to practice. Not only that, I also have to be aware of my flaws by learning from constructive criticism and from others’ mistakes.

My favourite takeaway for this module is to relearn the idea on empathy. Through doing a group-based research and report process, I feel that I was constantly being reminded to empathise, and not simply sympathise those whom I worked with. It is especially so, since everyone who took this module is a student in the same year and course, carrying the same workload. While some may be more competent in dealing with the workload, others may be lacking in it. From this, I see the importance of putting myself in the shoes of others, understanding their difficulties and trying to encourage and assist them in anyway I can to make university life more bearable for everyone. I think my learning journey has been truly fulfilling and if I am consistent in treading this path, I can further improve in communicating more effectively.

Commented on: Irdina, Jasmine, Neng Wei

9 Replies to “Critical Reflection”

  1. Hi Umar! It is great to hear that you have managed to meet the target that you have set at the start of this trimester. I believe that you have presented excellently in your final presentation as well as during the showcase. You exhibited confidence and calmness throughout the presentation and I should learn from you in that aspect as I tend to get a little too jumpy when presenting. The lesson on empathy is something I myself resonate with as well. It is important for us as classmates to always empathise with one another and give each other a pat on the back from time to time. Thank you for sharing your reflections and it was great having you as one of my classmates in effective communication! 🙂

    Like

    1. Hi Jasmine, thank you for your encouraging feedback! You have a radiant smile that exudes confidence and positivity, and this is one lesson I should put into practice for future presentations. With that smile, I believe you can go far! Keep it up, Jasmine! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi Umar,

    I am glad to see that you have taken steps to leave your comfort zone. I remember that when I first met you during last trimester, I always thought that you were quiet and reserved person. I think that you have done well in your final presentation despite that it was a nerve wrecking experience. From starting small to speaking in front of a large crowd.

    Thank you for reminding me to emphasise with other people, as the stress from our workload would lead us to overlook this aspect.

    I look forward to working more often with you in the future.

    Like

    1. Hi Weiming, thank you too, for the valuable feedback! I am glad that the module provided a good platform for me to learn from everyone. I believed that keeping myself reserved would only make my growth and learning opportunities stunted.

      Once again, thank you for being part of my communication learning journey and I look forward to working with you.

      Like

  3. Hello Umar!

    Nice post you got over here! I am very happy for you in stepping out of your comfort zone and breaking walls to interact with us all. It was fun and pleasant to see the relaxed you apart from being so serious while doing the other modules. Let us all continue to learn from one another and to improve together in the coming years!

    Angela

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Dear Umar,

    Thanks for this heartfelt post. It’s a comprehensive reflection in which you address the means by which you were able to achieve some goals you had set for yourself at the start of the module. I appreciate how you focus on presentation skills and your interesting idea that “respect’ is of the essence, both for content and then for oneself.

    You also focus on the value of empathy as a particular learning that stood out in terms of your project.

    I do have a few questions though: Where do you go from here in terms of skills development? What do you feel you need to work on?

    Whatever the case, I appreciate your sharing in this post and all the effort you made this term.

    Best wishes as you continue your learning journey!

    Brad

    Like

Leave a comment